Practice time

I like to have a set goal for the amount of time I will practice in a day. That way I’m not tempted to say “good enough” and quit early. A time commitment makes it more likely that you will work on details you would otherwise skip. While at Indiana, my goal was to practice 4 hours a day, 6 days a week. I achieved a little over 3 1/2. A great goal for an undergrad would be 2 hours.

For me, the earlier in the day I begin, the more likely I’ll achieve the goal. I tried to get 2 hours in before lunch. Also, it is easier to focus in the morning, before other things compete for your attention. A good morning session tends to make the rest of the day feel good as well.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

