Sabbatical!

Hi, all.

I’m embarking on a new series of posts based on my sabbatical project to travel the midwest and take lessons from great jazz bass teachers. It’s been an awesome experience. My only regret is that I didn’t have time to study with everybody. To all the other great teachers: sorry I wasn’t able to get to you.

My aim was to get as many perspectives on jazz bass teaching as possible. I wanted to focus mainly on fundamentals (isn’t it always about fundamentals?), but things often spun off into pretty advanced stuff. These lessons forced me to confront my musical shortcomings – this was not always a painless process – but every teacher was incredibly welcoming and kind. Lessons often spilled over into sharing meals and/or beers. Unifying all of the encounters was the unchecked passion these teachers projected. It was always more than just scales and arpeggios; these players pour their souls into their work. It would be impossible to tell you all the things I’ve learned, but that’s not going to stop me from trying. Read on…
M

Leave a Reply

